Choreography Juanjo Arques
Dramaturg Cristina Henríquez Laurent
Music Robin Rimbaud – Scanner
Lighting Wijnand van der Horst
Set Design Dominique Drillot
Costumes Oliver Haller
Video Mathieu Gremillet
Premiere 2016 with Junior Company Het National Ballet Amsterdam, The Netherlands
20 mins
For his new work Fresas (Strawberries), specially created for Jheronimus Bosch Festival, Arques was inspired by Bosch’s most famous painting “The Garden of Earthly Delights”, which has  plenty of symbolism and different interpretations. Just as the painting, “Fresas” is a triptych about lust and desire. Arques dives in the meaning of fruits in the Middle Ages where strawberries represented temptation.

The ballet begins with a journey through the darkness of Hell, where temptation leads the dancers to physical exhaustion. The middle section shows the encounter between Adam and Eve in Eden, in a fragile and tender duet. Closing the ballet we see a playful scene of an ideal Paradise in which humans imagine themselves in a situation with no sense of guilt.

In this brand new creation Arques has blended an original score by British composer Scanner with his personal movement language to create his particular vision of the art work.